Natsubate – Like Heatstroke…but more Vampiric.

Hey guys! Sorry for the lack of updates but as you well know, it’s in the middle of summer (for those of us in the northern hemisphere) and right now in Japan it’s always between 33 and 35 degrees celsius, even reaching 38 in Tokyo!

Now, I don’t know if you live in England, or have ever been in England during the summer, but I have to say- England feels like Antarctica compared to Japan at a cool 24-ish degree summer. This is my first time staying in Japan throughout the summer and it’s definitely taking it’s toll on me, both physically and mentally.

Because it’s so hot, it just makes you sweat and sweat and sweat, which is good when watching girls pat themselves cool, but if you’re like me with thin hair, then it just ends up making you look like a drowned rat within an hour or so. Not to mention that nasty feeling of having your clothes soaked and cling to you (again, good to see on girls, but not for me.)

It doesn’t get much cooler at night either which means I cannot SLEEP!

Practically in the nude, laying on a mat that is supposed to cool me down, with a fan blowing nearby, all the fan does is keep blowing hot hair on me, but it’s still better than not having it at all. So I often wake up in the middle of the night out of sheer heat, or from dehydration and downing a bottle of whatever is in the fridge (the Mrs. is wondering how the milk keeps running out so quickly).

So from lack of sleep, seemingly constant dehydration, being sweaty and lack of air conditioner (expensive to keep running) I honestly feel like sleeping in the freezer.

Japanese have a phrase for this called 「夏ばて」 (“Natsubate”) which generally means “Summer exhaustion”, but it’s not to be confused with things like “Sunstroke” or “Heatstroke” (That would be 「日射病」”Nisshabyou”).

Natsubate is a general phrase to describe the lethargy that comes during Summer, with the constantly high humidity and temperatures that seems to suck the life and energy out of you before you even realize it (You were wondering where the “vampiric” part came in, right?). That’s why it’s been so hard for me to scramble the energy to write anything recently! That and being incredibly busy as of late…

With Global Warming on the rise it’s making each year more unbearable than the last, I never thought I’d prefer to be in England than Japan but after a month of pure heat, you need a break! It doesn’t help that people are holding back on energy usage because of the Fukushima power plant incident, either, so not as many shops are using Air Conditioning (well, they are, but not as cool as it usually would be).

The blazing heat raining down everywhere, no shade in sight, it really does take it’s toll, which is why it’s no surprise that men’s sun umbrella sales have seen a sharp increase this year, three times higher than last!

I don’t know about you, but I don’t think I’ll ever get to the point where I’ll be walking around with a sun umbrella. If it’s a choice between death and looking effeminite from the 1800′s, I’ll take death please.

Would kill for a slushie,
RyuuOnii

Leave a Reply

